Reviews

The cottage is cosy. The view is amazing. The rooms are very nice, the mattress is very comfortable. You can find everything you need if you would like to cook. We got some eggs,bacon and milk for breakfast. Everything is well organised in the house. Tunde (September 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Lorraine’s place is very special – nested in the rolling fields of Ireland, the views are breath taking, the place is very nice and lends itself nicely to just relax and chill. We really appreciated the opportunity to use the fireplace and enjoyed our stay very much. Very much recommended to anyone 🙂 Thanks for having us! Jakub (September 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Absolutely lovely place to stay, spotlessly clean and full of character. Excellently equipped kitchen. Lorraine was so helpful and made sure we settled in well – thanks Lorraine! Bee (August 2019) Booking.com 10 of 10 stars

Great location, lovely accommodation, generous extras and very informative host. Peter (August 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

You can certainly look forward to an Irish cead míle fáilte (a hundred thousand welcomes). Lorraine’s hospitality and attention to detail is second to none. Excellent communication before and during our stay. Homely touches, a fridge stocked with sausages, bacon and eggs on arrival made for a tasty evening meal, garden flowers on in the windows. The beautifully restored schoolhouse is the perfect location for exploring local areas of interest or further . An ideal base from which to explore Ireland’s Ancient East and South-East. The Eircode brought us directly to it’s huge green front door. A place of peace and tranquillity but yet only 10 mins from a motorway. We would highly recommend a visit. We absolutely loved our 5 night stay. Thank you Lorraine! Deirdre (August 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Amazing, restful house where we played board games and relaxed as a family in beautiful peaceful countryside. Lorraine has the house spotless and everything you need is there. Maebh (August 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Stunning views! You will love this old schoolhouse if looking for a place to stay in South Kilkenny. We recommend it. Counties Wexford, Waterford & Tipperary are only a short drive away. Thanks Lorraine! Marie (August 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

The Old School House was our favourite stay during our week in Ireland. Absolutely charming cottage situated in beautiful farmland. It was the perfect place to recharge while taking day trips to close by Waterford and Kilkenny.
Lorraine was so friendly and welcoming to my entire family and left much appreciated morning breakfast items. We loved chatting with her as did my young children. The cottage was also spotless. Clean, well tended and organised. Highly recommended! We will remember this stay for a long time. Thanks, Lorraine!! Tonya Kisner Cynn (August 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

What a beautiful cottage. We were blessed with amazing weather, so the views from the garden were breathtaking. The location is so tranquil. We were contented from the first step through the door. Agatha (July 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Loved our stay at the beautiful little cottage not far from Waterford. We stayed there only one night but when we saw it we wished we had booked many more nights! Lorraine was lovely and made sure we had all we needed. Don’t pass this up if you’re passing this way! Nanette Wilkins (June 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

Exceptional. Location in peace full countryside. Fantastic building comfortable facilities. Brian (May 2019) Booking.com 10 of 10 stars

A cosy comfortable cottage. Very private. GB (May 2019) Cottages.com   7 of 10 stars

Outstanding place to stay magnificent views ..wow cannot rate this beautiful cottage enough and lorraine was such a lovely person makes you feel right at home with amazing little touches def be back again. John (May 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

 Very highly recommend.  I loved the location, the property, the price. Lorraine was brilliant. So kind and welcoming. The solid fuel stove was cosy and fabulous. Every room was spotless. Bedding perfect. Room size and decore great. Garden is a sun trap and bird song all day so peaceful. It was fabulous. Jacqueline (April 2019) Booking.com 10 of 10 stars

Remote, tranquil, beauty! And you’ll love Lorraine!
Lorraine was warm and welcoming. Although we stayed one night only, she made sure to drop in to show us all the home had to offer. She made us feel more like old friends than just clients staying at her property. And, she even had a small basket of Easter chocolates waiting for us upon arrival, as well as a variety of breakfast items and tea. You will want to stay and enjoy the tranquility and beauty of this cottage and surroundings. Thank you, Lorraine!
Our only regret is that we booked just one night! The surroundings and home were so lovely, you will want to stay much longer. Merissa (April 2019) Booking.com 10 of 10 stars

This cottage has so much warmth and character. Lovely scenery and great location. Lorraine was a lovely host and couldn’t have been more helpful. We highly recommend anyone stay here. We’ll be back. Mick (April 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Lorraine is a warm and welcoming host. You will love her home and its beautiful surroundings! Everything was just perfect, and Lorraine met us when we checked in to ensure we had everything we needed. She even left a basket of Easter goodies and a variety of breakfast items for our family! What a lovely place to stay if you’re anywhere near Mullinnakill! Thank you, Lorraine! Merissa Markley (April 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

We absolutely loved our time at the Old Schoolhouse Cottage! My favorite parts?The views and the birdsong! Erin Slevin Landvatter (April 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

Wonderful and scenic cottage! So cozy and comfortable and the views are incredible.
Moira Landvatter (April 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

I absolutely loved staying at the schoolhouse! I do wish I could have stayed longer. The views were unbelievable and the house was absolutely perfect.
Courtney Hoover (March 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

This was an amazing experience. The host was absolutely perfect. I wish we would have been able to stay longer. The fresh air and the countryside views were breath taking.
Jeremy Ekengren (March 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

Great secluded break away. Fantastic location the views are amazing. The host left essentials for breakfast like cereal and rashers. Will definitely return. Louise (March 2019) Booking.com 10 of 10 stars

Highly recommend a visit to this little slice of heaven. Lorraine had the stove lighting as we arrived late and it was like coming home. She was a wonderful hostess and had an Irish fry up there for us for breakfast. The views are stunning and the house is beautiful- thank you so very much.
Geraldine (March 2019) Booking.com 10 of 10 stars

Lovely place, it was great for four people and it had everything we needed for our stay.
Genaro (March 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

he schoolhouse was such a magical place to stay! The charm was everything I hoped for my Irish visit and then some. The breathtaking views was astounding every time I looked out a window. The homey touches were much appreciated and Lorraine was a delight to meet and message with. Not only do I look forward to staying here again in the future, I will always recommend this for anyone to stay!
Courtney (March 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

This was the location we were most excited about staying at in Ireland as we love old school houses! Lorraine was wonderful, very responsive, and she left eggs and bacon which is really the way to our hearts! The views were fantastic, a true Irish vacation!
Misty (March 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

We had a great time. Such a cosy house and wonderful views! Thanks so much for hosting us. Annabelle (March 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Beautiful and historic 2 bedroom converted schoolhouse overlooking the breathtaking Irish countryside. This house has everything you’re looking for in your Irish countryside visit. Wake to a chorus of songbirds and misty mornings and retire to the crackling of the wood stove. Lorraine was a joy to interact with… readily available to answer any questions and to provide inside information on the local area. If you’re looking for a peaceful 2 bedroom retreat near Waterford, this is the place!
Herbert (February 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

This house with peaceful hill view gave us a perfect night in the countryside in Ireland, and it is so clean and have everything you need in the kitchen. I think it is a place you shall stay more than one day, as a treatment for a city-person. I hope I can have another chance to come back and drink tea every morning in front of the widow facing the hill.
Yuyu (February 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Great spot, super quite and easy check in. Full kitchen was great for the weekend away. Allen (February 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

The cottage is a little slice of Irish heaven. Cannot say enough how wonderful our stay was. The cottage was spotless clean, full of everything we needed for comfort, including a wood burning stove fireplace. There were plenty of logs and we thoroughly enjoyed it on our evening stay in January. The decor and set up of everything inside was just so charming and welcoming. We stayed in four star hotels all over Ireland during our trip and the best night sleep was at the cottage. We woke up to birds singing and sweeping views of the Irish countryside that made our jaws dropped. Lorraine was an amazing host. She came calling shortly after we arrived to make sure everything was okay and offer loads of advice on things to do and see in the area. I cannot say enough what an amazing experience it was to have stayed at the cottage. It was, as the Irish would say, class! Thank you, Lorraine, for an unforgettable stay! I’m very much looking forward to bringing my husband back this summer!
Stephanie Perichino (Febuary 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

The owners are very accommodating and the place is very well appointed!!
Historic building · Spacious rooms · Thoughtful amenities.
Stacey Whitfield (January 2019) Facebook   5 of 5 stars

The cottage is a little slice of Irish heaven. Cannot say enough how wonderful our stay was. The cottage was spotless clean, full of everything we needed for comfort, including a wood burning stove fireplace. There were plenty of logs and we thoroughly enjoyed it on our evening stay in January. The decor and set up of everything inside was just so charming and welcoming. We stayed in four star hotels all over Ireland during our trip and the best night sleep was at the cottage. We woke up to birds singing and sweeping views of the Irish countryside that made our jaws dropped. Lorraine was an amazing host. She came calling shortly after we arrived to make sure everything was okay and offer loads of advice on things to do and see in the area. I cannot say enough what an amazing experience it was to have stayed at the cottage. It was, as the Irish would say, class! Thank you, Lorraine, for an unforgettable stay! I’m very much looking forward to bringing my husband back this summer! Stephanie (January 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

This place was incredible! Quiet and really allowed you to enjoy a piece of history. Highly recommend.
Chris (January 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Très charmant cottage, bien équipé, très confortable avec une superbe vue. J’ai réservé en dernière minute, tout était prêt et Lorraine très accueillante. We had a great stay in a very comfortable house. We made a last minute booking and felt really welcome. Great view in a well modernised cottage.
Christelle (January 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Remote but really lovely, my friend and I really enjoyed our stay. It’s spacious and comfortable and Lorraine has thought of all the touches to make it a home from home experience. Breda (January 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

The Old School is so homely nestled into the beautiful hills of Kilkenny! We had an amazing time in the beautiful cottage, it’s clean, cosey and Lorraine was so kind to even provide us with milk, eggs and bread on our arrival! Lorraine was lovely although did not meet her! Would definitely recommend to a friend. Deborah (January 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

What a find! We only stayed for two nights, …a great place to stay in the country, to cook, a glass of wine (thanks for the bottle of red!) and play board games with our children in front of a cosy fire! Oh, we slept like logs, very comfy beds! Paul (January 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

Myself and friends stayed at the schoolhouse over New Years and we had a great time. The School House is beautiful, cosy and has amazing views. We loved the stove which kept the place warm. Lorraine was a great host providing lots of information and keeping in touch, the place was spotless when we arrived and had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a short getaway. I might even be back 🙂 Ryan (January 2019) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

The Old School House surpassed expectations and is a credit to our wondreful host Lorraine. All the little extra touches really made us fee welcome and at home.  D (December 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars
 
 
Lovely school house in a fab rural setting. I would recommend this accomodation 100%  Sheelagh (December 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars
 
 
The school house was a beautiful place to stay. There was stunning views of the countryside. Very warm and cosy. would highly recommend a stay here.
 
 
Lovely old schoolhouse, beautifully restored, in an idyllic setting – I wish we could have stayed longer! Provided snacks and breakfast, which was awesome. Many thanks!  JeNae Kaiser (November 2018) Facebook   5 of 5 stars
 
 
My daughter booked a last minute stay here and I’m so glad she did – we will definitely be returning! Stunning surroundings – the cottage is so peaceful and perfect for star gazing if you had a telescope! The cottage is excellently restored and the fire makes it very cosy in winter. Lorraine was excellent in communicating everything to us and there were countless numbers of guides to the neighbouring Wexford, Waterford and Kilkenny attractions. This cottage is a hidden gem in a beautiful part of Ireland’s countryside.  Aileen Mulfaul (November 2018) Facebook   5 of 5 stars
 
 
The Old School House Cottage is charming and a perfect setting for any Ireland vacation. We loved being in the countryside, it couldn’t have been more idyllic! Lorraine is an excellent host and was very quick to respond to questions, send directions and get everything prepared for our stay. The place is very family friendly; we traveled with young children and they were safe and loved the toys and movies on hand. The fresh eggs, milk, bread and bacon made for a perfect start to our day! Would highly recommend!  Darien (November 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars
 
 
We booked a last minute stay here and I’m so glad we did – we will definitely be returning! Stunning surroundings – the cottage is so peaceful. The cottage is excellently restored and the fire makes it very cosy in winter. Lorraine was excellent in communicating everything to us and there were countless numbers of guides to the neighbouring Wexford, Waterford and Kilkenny attractions. While there we accessed the Waterford greenway in 20 minutes and Kilkenny city in under 30 minutes. Inistioge is only a stones throw away too! This cottage is a hidden gem in a beautiful part of Ireland’s countryside. Just go!  Jessica (October 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars
 
 
If you’re looking for a beautiful country side view while in Ireland, this is the place to go. Lorraine is an awesome host with a beautiful home. It has history and again VIEWS. I’m glad my friends and I did it, even tho we were passing thru, it was totally worth it!  Bee (October 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars
 
 
This cottage is a perfect cosy homestead with gorgeous views of neighbouring farms. We particularly enjoyed the huge stove fireplace. Lorraine was a lovely and accomodating host, particularly in how quickly she answered our questions. Highly recommended!  Chloe (October 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars
 

The old school house was a great first stay for our trip. Lorraine provided us with what we needed for our toddler, some basics for the kitchen and breakfast as well as tips for the surrounding area. Vance (September 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

This house is in a beautiful and restful setting. I recommend staying there 2-3 nights to relax and explore the area. Lorraine has made the house as comfortable as can be.   Emily (September 2018) AirBnb   5 of 5 stars

The old school house was a great first stay for our trip. Lorraine provided us with what we needed for our toddler, some basics for the kitchen and breakfast as well as tips for the surrounding area.    Vance (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

The schoolhouse is a perfect getaway retreat. Located in the middle of the countryside, if you are looking for peace and quiet with scenic views I haven’t found better. Cabin is clean and cosy, Lorraine was a great host, would stay again.    Eddie (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Lorraine is a wonderful host. This was our first night in Ireland, she was very helpful making sure we knew how to find her place and left us to rest after our long overnight trip from Canada and first full day in Ireland. Lorraine came by the next day as we were heading out and I’m so glad she did, with great tips on places to see and insight into the local area. The old school house is so charming with amazing views of the rolling hills in the countryside, it was the perfect way to start our trip. Would be very nice for a longer stay too. I highly recommend the Old School House and Lorraine as a host!   Dawn (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Our stay in this schoolhouse was perfect! The views can’t be beat, and the ambiance created when we lit the fireplace will stay with us long after our holiday has ended. The kitchen was wonderful, we cooked dinner in and watched the fields as the sun set. Everything was sparkling clean, and our host was so generous and kind to provide some breakfast stuffs. I hope to be returning to this schoolhouse on my next visit!    Shannon (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

A lovely house in a beautiful and quiet landscape. Its in the middle of nowwhere, but there are many attractions in the near. The contact with Lorraine was very good.    Katharina (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

The cottage is a wonderful combination of quaint and modern. The view is outstanding both from the front and back gardens. The property has everything you could need including a well stocked kitchen, an electric shower and more, but yet it retains its vintage cottage charm. There are remnants of the old schoolhouse remaining such as the sign on the front of the building and the old outdoor bathrooms in the garden. Our host Lorraine couldn’t have been more helpful and added some wonderful touches like chocolates and a stocked fridge on arrival. I would highly recommend the cottage for visitors to Ireland looking for an authentic cottage stay or couples or families looking for a relaxing country retreat from the city.   Orna (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

We highly recommend The Old Schoolhouse and Lorraine as a very super host. You will not be disappointed in this very unique cottage set amongst the beautiful countryside. And the cows are also very welcoming!    Diane (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

A wonderful experience in the country side of Ireland. Truly magic view, facilities, warm and cozy all together with a lovely host.    Damien and Adele (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Lorraine and the Old School House are exceptional! Thank you for your incredible hospitality. The accommodations are cozy, stylish and relaxing. It has everything you could possibly need or want. In the evening it is so quiet, albeit the occasional cow mooing in the distance (which just added to the experience for the city slickers we are!). We only wish what everyone seems to – to stay longer! Thank you Lorraine, see you again someday!   Jay (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Very nice place with many beautiful little touches. View of surroundings was great.     Dan (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

A fantastic, well-appointed stay with the thoughtful touches that really make a weary traveller feel welcomed and relaxed. The best airbnb experience I have had to date.   Christine (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Its a cosy and beautiful place for a nice and calm weekend. It is in the middle of farmland. If you are looking for a true country side location then its perfect.    Kamal (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Lorraine’s place was perfect for our weekend getaway and she was a terrific host. Everything was clean, all the amenities were as described and Lorraine was very clear with instructions on how to get to the house and collect the keys. Highly recommend.    Jamson (September 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Great host and place to stay, thanks.    Jonathan (August 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Wow what a great place! Lorraine was a wonderful host – very responsive, easy check in instructions and great local tips. I just wish I had planned more than one night! Highly recommended!    Justin (August 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Beautiful location, so peaceful. Nicely converted building, cosy and warm inside. Beautiful views out. Will definitely return.   Sharron (August 2018)    10 out of 10

Beautifully restored historic school building. Surrounding area is stunning and so peaceful with amazing views from the cottage. Walks along the lanes to meet the cows were a ‘must’. The owner was simply lovely and so welcoming – and the unexpected provisions (milk, bread, butter, eggs etc) left for our arrival was such a treat!    Liz (August 2018)    10 out of 10

Difficult to rate local amenities, since the cottage is literally in the middle of nowhere! I wouldn’t wish for this to put a negative slant on the review. The cottage is very well appointed. It is clean and has every appliance and utensil that you would need, in order to stay comfortably away from home. Views are spectacular and the peace and quiet was exactly what we needed, in order to recharge our batteries. Lighting the log-burning stove in the evenings was a real treat! Nothing is too much trouble for the owner and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again, or to recommend it to others.    Lynne (August 2018)    10 out of 10

Warm, welcoming and beautiful. we were to stay just one night and travel on to Wales. When we woke up in the morning and saw how beautiful it was, we cancelled Wales and stayed another night. The time spent here was truly relaxing and lovely. we all highly recommend visiting here.    Katherine Rusz (August 2018)    5 of 5 stars

It’s so hard to put into words how fantastic this place is! We spent 11 nights in the most perfect quirky cottage with everything you could possibly need, surrounded by wonderful views, beautiful bird song and privacy. We didn’t want to come home.

As mentioned by others on here, it is so private but also has easy access to the motorways which means you can scoot off to quite distant places so easily or you can pootle along the quiet little roads and hardly ever see another vehicle. We went to Dublin so he could dive, spent an afternoon with friends at the Sensory Gardens in Carlow, visited Mountmellick for ancestral reasons, visited lovely lakes at Blessington (well worth a visit), walked along the river at Graiguenamanagh, visited Thomas town, Inistioge and went around the Ring of Hook where there are beaches, an Abbey or a castle around every corner.

Lovely people everywhere, so friendly, everyone was happy to pass the time of day when out and about not to mention how lovely it was to meet Lorraine and the gardener (sorry I can’t remember his name) who gave us great advice on places to visit or places to eat. Talking about food – so many good places to eat and the portions are amazing. The soda and sourdough bread is so much nicer than home and of course, he enjoyed a Guinness or two!

The Cracked Teapot and Ann McDonalds in New Ross are well worth a visit if you want to stay local – again, not only good food but lovely people as well.

Shops for everyday pick-up pretty local and a little further into Mullinavat where there is a Pub called the Rising Sun which turns out a good meal. Didn’t manage to get to all the places we wanted to go, so……..Can’t wait to go back!    Lorrina Doyle (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Little details make a world of difference. Our hostess had milk, eggs, bread, butter, ham, cheese and tomato for us. We got in late the night before and it was such a blessing to have breakfast provided. Just shows how small things can make a BIG difference for someone else. The accommodations were clean and spacious and the view can’t be beat!! Highly recommend!   Laura Roxberry Euler (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

I was so excited to stay at The Old School House Cottage. In fact, it was what I looked most forward to regarding accommodations. We traveled throughout Ireland for 11 days and nothing compared to Lorraine and Martins hospitality. The cottage was spotless and Lorraine provided all necessities. The decor was simple yet perfect and very cozy. The views! It’s entirely worth staying in the cottage for the breath taking views. I’ve already shared the information with 2 friends. So much history in this little place.    Yvonne Cazad-Edge (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Loved it! Lorraine is a great host and the cottage is adorable with all the modern conveniences. Located conveniently near the motorway but far enough to feel like you are in the heart of the countryside. The views are wonderful and the people in the community were so friendly. If you are coming to/from the southern part of Ireland, this is a great midway point.   Tone Fooji (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

A magical cottage in a beautiful location! This was our family’s favorite stop along our 10 day trip through Ireland. The cottage gives you a feeling of traditional Ireland but with comfortable and modern amenities, Lorraine is a great host and the cottage is sparkling clean.    Kathryn (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Lorraine was a fab host with an amazing home. The old school was gorgeous and homey; full of history, amazing architecture and gorgeous views. We kept saying how we would buy the house in a heartbeat and move there! We actually cried when we left. Thank you Lorraine for everything, if anyone is considering this Airbnb please book. You will not regret it. We’ve stayed in many Airbnb’s and this one was by far the best one! It is also worth pointing out how clean the house was with plenty of towels and pillows etc. We will always treasure the memories at this house!    Geoff (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

We just loved Lorraine’s little school house. It was set amidst peaceful farmlands and had everything you needed…….plus extras (thanks Lorraine) Instructions to get there were spot on and there was a supermarket at Mullinavat where you could get your supplies if needed. (about 20 mins away) Lorraine was a warm and friendly host. A big thank you for your hospitality Lorraine.    Di (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

This is a hidden gem! It’s a teeny tiny bit off the beaten path and absolutely worth it. Lorraine went above and beyond to make sure we were welcome and settled. She had everything we needed to make a delicious breakfast (how welcome after a long day of travel!) and gave us great tips on the local area. The space was beautiful, light and clean. My kids particularly loved the garden and I enjoyed the beautiful view. Highly recommend!!   Laura (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

An absolutely charming and well appointed cottage! All the amenities and country charm as well. I’d encourage everyone to stay here!   Tyra (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

This renovated schoolhouse is set on a quiet, rural road in Kilkenny. Looking out over the front garden allows fabulous views of the valley below. The interior is beautifully finished, immaculately clean and comfortable. Our party included my young daughter and there were multiple games and toys on offer for her amusement, along wiht a selection of DVDs. I loved the little touch of fresh eggs and other breakfast fare being left out for our use. Everything is clearly labelled and all information required provided once you arrive. Lorraine was incredibly welcoming and nothing was too much hassle. Overall this is a beautiful location for a quiet, relaxing stay.   Karen (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Loved it! Lorraine is a great host and the cottage is adorable with all the modern conveniences. Located conveniently near the motorway but far enough to feel like you are in the heart of the countryside. The views are wonderful and the people in the community were so friendly. If you are coming to/from the southern part of Ireland, this is a great midway point.   Toni (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Fantastic cottage, fantastic host…the views will take your breath away! Only complaint is we wish we could have stayed longer!  Kathryn (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Great place with lots of character!   Catherine (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

This cottage was unique and very beautiful. The landscape is so picturesque. It is a good distance to the local store and restaurants so I would recommend taking plenty of provisions with you. Lorraine was wonderful and very accommodating.    Lynn (July 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Perfect place to relax and unwind. Such a beautiful and quiet spot but close enough to jump on a motorway and explore the wonderful emerald isle. The views from the cottage are stunning and everything for a perfect stay is supplied. Lorraine, our host, was wonderful. The cottage is more than perfect in every way, and we look forward to a return visit. Cannot rate this property high enough, simply perfect…… We didn’t want to go home!   Lorrina (July 2018)    10 out of 10

We could not have been happier with the quaint little old school. A real find!    David (June 2018)    10 out of 10

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful location then this cottage is for you. Very secluded with the nearest neighbouring farm, half a mile away. You do need a car.
We wanted for nothing, well equipped kitchen, fresh farm eggs, milk, cereals, butter and freshly made soda bread was just items provided to make us feel very welcome.
Lorraine greeted us and showed us around the cottage and reassured us that if there was anything we wanted help with, we could ring her anytime.    Sue (June 2018)    10 out of 10

The cottage was great. One of the most memorable of all the places we’ve stayed in Ireland. It seems a bit remote, but it’s really central to many things in the area. Plus, that just makes out all the more charming. Lorraine is wonderful. Unfortunately we didn’t get to meet, but she was very quick to response to any questions and made sure we had everything we needed. She’s even going out of her way to see about getting an item left behind returned. An absolute great host.    Todd (June 2018)    5 of 5 stars

This home is wonderful. I was traveling with my husband and 9-year-old son, and we all loved the school house. It’s located about 35 minutes from Kilkenny but only about 20 from New Ross (which has loads of restaurants and a Super Valu grocety store). It’s not only a beautiful home with comfortable beds and lots of privacy, but it has one of the most beautiful views of any place I’ve ever stayed. Lorraine was incredibly communicative, quick with responses, and so kind. I could not recommend this place enough if you are traveling to this part of Ireland.     Jessica (June 2018)    5 of 5 stars

This place was beautiful! The house had everything you need. Scenery was breathtaking. Host was wonderful. Getting there was quite an experience as we came the “back” way in apparently, so the roads were quite narrow to almost single roads. It was okay with us, as it just added to the experience. We would recommend this place for a true Ireland experience. We only stayed our last night there and left for the airport the next day. Would have loved to stayed few more days to check out the local area more. We did have a wonderful dinner at the local pub/restaurant that Lorraine recommended and it was delicious!    Carl (June 2018)    5 of 5 stars

Had a great stay in Lorraine’s cottage in May while attending an event in New Ross. Beautiful location and surroundings, and the house itself was full of character. Everything was ready for our arrival with nothing left for us to do but enjoy a relaxing stay in the house.    Tom (May 2018)    5 of 5 stars

This place is a wonderful gem, hidden away in the country hills. The view from the porch is beautiful and I regretted only booking one night. The place is a great unique space that I would highly recommend to anyone needing to recharge their batteries!    Brian (May 2018)   5 of 5 stars

It was an incredible location. We really couldn’t believe our eyes when we arrived. If you’re thinking of staying for one night, make it two at least! Great place to unplug, relax, take beautiful pictures, and visit a few cows. The home itself is also beautifully restored and a lovely place to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer but even one night was a great experience. Lorraine was also a very responsive and helpful host— all around excellent Airbnb! Stay here!    Catherine (May 2018)   5 of 5 stars

This house sits on a very beautiful countryside. If you’re looking for peaceful and relaxing, this is the place for you. Amenities are a ways away so bring groceries, etc with you. Host was very accommodating and helpful. Would definitely recommend!    Amanda (May 2018)   5 of 5 stars

This was by far the best bnb I have ever stayed in! The location was far away from other houses for privacy, but had an amazing view of the countryside. The hostess was very accommodating, and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The house itself was very clean and had all the modern amenities, without losing its old schoolhouse charm and character. It made for the perfect romantic getaway for my boyfriend and I, although we could’ve comfortably fit a couple more people. The WiFi worked great, along with the tv and fireplace/stove. The kitchen was fully stocked and Lorraine left very clear instructions on how to operate everything. I would highly recommend this place to couples, groups, or families. My boyfriend and I can’t wait to come back!    Cara (May 2018)   5 of 5 stars

Lorraine’s place was perfect. Everything was as advertised and so much more. An ideal escape to the country. We wish we could of enjoyed your lovely school house for longer. The two Robins Chris and Gaynor.    Gaynor (May 2018)   5 of 5 stars

Our stay at The Old School House Cottage was nothing short of spectacular. Lorraine was extremely welcoming, the cottage was cozy and quaint and the views were absolutely amazing. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!     Kaylee Lindsay (May 2018)   5 of 5 stars

An idyllic Irish country side experience. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer. Lorraine is an absolute pleasure and the Old School House Cottage was a perfectly relaxing experience.    Theresa (May 2018)   5 of 5 stars

Loved our stay here. Stayed a night would have preferred a week. This house is located in a quiet and scenic spot and is very well equipped for your stay. We had a beautiful sunny day so were able to sit out and use the garden with our 3 year old. I would imagine a miserable rainy night tucked up by the stove would be special too. Thanks again Lorraine.   Michael (April 2018)   5 of 5 stars

Lorraine is a gracious host and the school house is fantastic. The location is beautiful and the house is clean and well equipped. We loved having a dryer and a USB phone charger available. Lorraine stopped by to say hello and she also put out two travel cots, which were a life saver when traveling with two toddlers! The location is quiet, safe and lovely. We would definitely return if we are ever lucky enough to find ourselves back in Ireland and highly recommend this location.   Jennifer (April 2018)   5 of 5 stars

Lorraine’s cottage is absolutely perfect. The location is stunning, the home is quaint and comfortable and the drive to it is beautiful. Lorraine was extremely kind and accommodating. We only stayed one night but wish we had more time at the cottage. We will definitely return!    Kaylee (April 2018)   5 of 5 stars

A truly unique space in the heart of the Irish countryside. Cozy fireplace, cute kitchen, and everything you could want in a country getaway. Lorraine is a wonderful host, and we would happily stay again.    Andrea (March 2018)   5 of 5 stars

The house was very cozy! It was extremely clean and very modern! Lorraine was an incredible host and made sure that everything was taken care of and that we had everything we needed. The fireplace was a great touch and great to sit around and relax. If you want quiet with fantastic views then this is the house for you!     Kyle (March 2018)   5 of 5 stars

We had a great stay, it was very brief but Lorraine was extremely helpful and the accommodation was excellent.    Simon & Sara (March 2018)   5 of 5 stars

What a beautiful modern place here in a picturesque setting of calm and quietness. Time spent here will recharge and invigorate you for the challenges of life. Everyone deserves time in this beautiful place.  Walter Doocey   5 of 5 stars

Eleshia A Markey    5 of 5 stars

A historical home beautifully decorated. Would highly recommend to anybody trying to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.   Mark   5 of 5 stars

The Old School House Cottage is EXACTLY what we were looking for while traveling around Ireland! It was secluded, quiet, and the scenery was spectacular! Lorraine was an incredible host and made sure we knew how everything worked prior to leaving. We are already planning on coming back and spending a week at the Old School House Cottage! If you are looking to get away from the city and have peace and quietness then this is the place for you! The inside and outside is immaculate!    Kyle Markey    5 of 5 stars

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of March and absolutely fell in love with the Old School House. Lorraine and Martin were fantasticly helpful and welcoming – providing us with firewood when needed and helping us drive up to the cottage in the super icy conditions! The cottage itself was beautiful and fully equipped with everything you could expect to need when at home. You definitely need a car to travel around the local area but it’s very easy to reach places such as Mullinavat, Kilkenny and Thomastown etc – where you can find local shops and bigger supermarkets such as Lidl and Aldi. We would 100% recommend staying at Mullinakill School.

Leah    5 of 5 stars

Had a wonderful time in this unique and historic location. Great host, great communication, great scenery! Highly recommend.   Andrea Mokros    5 of 5 stars

Lorraine and family made our stay spectacular! The schoolhouse was in a great location- very peaceful and off the beaten path, but close enough to enjoy the many sites around. The fireplace was lovely and the space was perfect for the three adults we had in our group. We also loved hearing the history of the cottage! A great way to start our Irish holiday!   Katie Russell    5 of 5 stars

Super nice place to have a pleasant relaxing time in the countryside. The cottage was very clean, cozy and warm. The perfect place to spend a weekend with my family. Lorraine was super nice and communicative with us: she left some hand made brad, jam, fresh eggs and snacks for us and gave us all the info we needed. Also she popped by to say hi and get to know us. We really felt like at home and can’t wait to be back.     Mariangela    5 of 5 stars

Such an amazing spot, loved every minute of being here & it definitely exceeded all expectations…the Schoolhouse was immaculate & the location is stunning. Lorraine was the ultimate host & all the little touches went a long way to making this stay feel very special. Already planning our return visit which is the ultimate compliment to the Schoolhouse as well as the host!! Can’t recommend highly enough.    Aidan    5 of 5 stars

I’d highly recommend a stay at Lorraines beautifully refurbished school house! It’s so cosy. Great log burning fire to get comfortable at! Modern kitchen containing everything you would need for your stay! The location is amazing! It’s close to the M9 motorway but it really is secluded spot. Perfect if you just want to get away from it all! I can’t actually think of anything negative to say about the place! Lorraine was a wonderful host. Her replies to any of my queries during booking were always very swift and informative. She met us at the house at the arranged time and told us everything we needed to know for our stay. It’s a house I’d definitely return to. Thank you Lorraine!   Tom    5.0 of 5 stars

Can’t recomend this place enough. Lorraine has thought of EVERYTHING and the place isn’t gorgeous. We had the most amazing night away, my boyfriend even used it as the place to pop the question so will always be extra special. Really can’t explain how good this place is, just perfect!  Gráinne    5.0 of 5 stars

Brilliant little place…Lorraine is amazing and so helpful! Has everything covered and everything you could need. My boyfriend loved it so much he popped the question there last week. . . what more can I say Gráinne Barrett    5.0 of 5 stars

Perfect location for that get away, tranquility amazing beautiful home would rate this 10/10. The extra touches Lorraine provides make it even better. This is a must stay . Loved it.  Caroline    5.0 of 5 stars

The old school house is a beautiful place to stay for two nights or two weeks! Lorraine really made it feel like a home from Home and even went the extra mile, giving us a bottle of wine for our honeymoon! The sound does travel slightly as the upstairs is open to the downstairs in parts. However this didn’t stop us or our 4 month old from sleeping (thankfully!) and we would 100% stay here again. Thank you Lorraine for being a fantastic host and I’m sure we’ll see you again someday! Gareth    5.0 of 5 stars

An absolute must, please check them out . Fantastic house.  Karen Jones    5.0 of 5 stars

Lorraine’s place was simply amazing. We wish our stay was longer! What a beautiful spot in the country. Arūnas Jagelavičius    5.0 of 5 stars

très bon accueil, très professionnel, endroit magique, situé au centre d’une région pleine de surprises, en marge des circuits trop touristiques. Jean Claude    5.0 of 5 stars

Lorraines Haus ist wirklich toll gelegen, im „Niemandsland“. Neben einer sehr geschmackvollen und sauberen Ausstattung bietet es einen herrlichen Ausblick. Die Kommunikation mit Lorraine war immer schnell und problemlos. Es ist ein Wohlfühlhaus, das sich prima mit 4 Personen bewohnen lässt! Gerne möchten wir nochmal kommen und länger bleiben! Kristina    5.0 of 5 stars

Such a wonderful place to stay. Lorraine was fantastic and the old school house was peaceful and secluded. The views were amazing and we were treated to a double rainbow upon our arrival. We would definitely stay here again. Heather    5.0 of 5 stars

Lorraine’s place is the most beautiful Airbnb place I’ve ever stayed – an absolutely perfect location for a relaxing weekend away. We got a bit lost so we got in late and didn’t get to meet Lorraine, but communication was great and she was very helpful with the few questions we had. Carolyn    5.0 of 5 stars

Such a beautiful home! My favorite Airbnb in Ireland so far. Gives you the full Ireland country side experience, hills, animals, etc… She left fresh eggs, chocolates, and more goodies for us when we arrived. It was a bit difficult to follow the maps, but we got there! Anissa    5.0 of 5 stars

Lorraine was a wonderful host and the school house was such a reprieve from the city of Dublin and the tour busses of the Ring of Kerry. The photos online are very accurate. Lorraine was very, very helpful and did a lovely job with designing the home. We enjoyed walking around the farm land, and each morning I looked forward to seeing which field the cows might be in. I am so happy with our last minute decision to stay at the Old School House. It was a much needed rest with tons of beauty! Didi    5.0 of 5 stars

Beautiful place with a fascinating history. It was absolutely adorable and the area is stunning! Lorraine and Martin and their children were warm, welcoming and very helpful. We would definitely recommend it! Jim    5.0 of 5 stars

We had a wonderful time! The views and house was amazing!! The owners were so informative and friendly! We definitely will be coming back in a few years when we return to Ireland! Courtney    5.0 of 5 stars

5 stars!   Carol Holden     5.0 of 5 stars

We had an excellent one night stay at the cottage. It was cozy and clean and felt like a home away from home. Lorraine was very helpful and was available to answer all of my questions. I would happily go back there for a longer stay.  Vitalia    5.0 of 5 stars

My second time at this house and loved it again, perfect to get away from The madness of modern life. Perfect little escape, so quite and beautiful views. Highly recommend. Amy    5.0 of 5 stars 

Lorraines home is…quiet….beautiful location…family friendly …comfortable….a home away from home… in a beautiful setting…. stunning… Wished we stayed longer…next time We would definitely stay again…. Thanks so much….   Eleonor    5.0 of 5 stars 

A beautifully cottage and a wonderful host. The cottage and the area it’s on is so lovely we spent a lot more time at the cottage than we expected to. Very close to the Waterford greenway too.   Sean    5.0 of 5 stars 

Perfect get away and escape from a hectic life for some peace and relaxation.  Amy    5.0 of 5 stars 

The Old School House was the perfect country hideaway for our girls catch up. The building has been beautifully restored. A real treat to stay in such a warm and comfortable place. The views of the valley provide a stunning panormama to enjoy. From the moment I made contact with Lorraine she was incredibly helpful and ensured our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Martin and Lorraine had a welcoming log fire on arrival and a bottle of red to mark a special birthday. I couldn’t recommended the Old School House highly enough!! We will definitely revisit again.  Orla    5.0 of 5 stars 

Our stay here was one of the highlights of the trip. The views from the property are stunning and the hospitality is top notch! Highly recommended!  Bailey    5.0 of 5 stars 

A perfect place to be! Nice and peaceful, sweet old school house! We will come back!  Lars   5.0 of 5 stars 

This is a great place, modernized but with feel for the past of the building. Amazing views and sos kit for rainy days to occupy the kids. We loved it! Gideon    5.0 of 5 stars 

Such a lovely place to stay, not too far from Waterford but lovely and private and with little touches that made our stay very pleasurable, thanks!  Rebecca    5.0 of 5 stars 

We had a great time staying at the Old School House. The house has a stunning view over the countryside and a nice garden for children to play in. It is beautifully decorated and has all you need. The kitchen is well equipped and the showers are nice and warm. Lorraine is a wonderful host and left us cake, bread, eggs and more. What a lovely welcome! The surroundings are also lovely, many nice villages, ancient historic sites and beautiful nature. Definitely would recommend staying here!  Maaike    5.0 of 5 stars 

A charming house that had all the amenities and supplies we required for a quiet night in for ladies to catch up, chat and enjoy a beverage or two! The option of a roaring fire (even in August) was a fabulous touch. There were a few hitches to start with (Access to WIFI for example) but this was quickly addressed by our host. We may even make this an annual event – Thank you! Audrey    5.0 of 5 stars 

The Old School House is beautiful – comfortable, private and with wonderful views. Lorraine was extremely welcoming and accommodating. Thank you! I’ll definitely visit again.  Sebastian    5.0 of 5 stars